The Rural Geography Specialty Group (RGSG) promotes research and education related to agriculture, rural development, and rural land use. To fulfill this mission, we: plan sessions for professional meetings, facilitate teaching and research of rural geography issues worldwide, publicize information about the role of geographers engaged in rural research, and promote interaction with organizations with similar interests, such as the IGU Commission on the Sustainability of Rural Systems. Link to more information about the Specialty Group on the Association of American Geographer’s web site.

Revised bylaws of the group can be found here.


Regular: $8
Student: $2

Officers/Board of directors

Here are the current officers and board of directors for the RGSG. Please contact them for additional information regarding the group.


Ryan Bergstrom (until 2017)
University of Minnesota Duluth
email: rbergstr – at- d.umn.edu


Christopher R. Laingen (until 2017)
Eastern Illinois University
email: crlaingen – at-eiu.edu


Dawn Drake (until 2018)
Missouri Western University
email: ddrake4 – at-missouriwestern.edu

Awards Committee Chair

Christopher R. Laingen (until 2017)
Eastern Illinois University
email: crlaingen – at-eiu.edu

Communications Committee Chair

Lisa Powell (until 2019)
University of British Columbia
email: lisa.powell – at – ubc.ca

Networking Committee Chair

Colleen Hiner (until 2017)
University of Texas – San Marcos
email: cchiner – at – txstate.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Chair

Jill Clark (until 2017)
Ohio State University
email:  clark.1099 – at – osu.edu

Regional Directors

Pacific Coast Division: Gina Thornburg (until 2018)
University of Kansas
email: gkthornburg – at – gmail.com

Southwest Division: Colleen Hiner

Southeast Division: Larry Kleitches (until 2019)
Georgia State University
email: lkeitches – at – gsu.edu

West Lakes Division: Christopher R. Laingen

Canadian Division: Lisa Powell (until 2019)
University of British Columbia
email: lisa.powell-at-ubc.ca

Great Plains Rocky Mountain Division: Julia Haggerty (until 2017)
Montana State University
email: julia.haggerty – at – montana.edu

Middle States Division:  Bill Whetherholt (until 2019)
Frostburg State University
email: wawetherholt-at-frostburg.edu

Directors – Graduate Student Representatives

Sarah Mason (until 2017)
University of Western Ontario
email: smason27 – at – uwo.ca

Kathryn Bills (until 2018)
Montana State University
email: kathryn.bill-at-msu.montana.edu

COMMITTEES – All members are welcome! Contact the chair if you want to get involved.

Awards Committee – Christopher R. Laingen (Chair), Cheryl Morse (Co-/Incoming Chair)

Communications Committee – Allison Brown (Chair), Lisa Powell (lisa.powell – at – ubc.ca), and Ryan Bergstrom

Meeting Committee – Jill Clark (Chair)

Networking Committee – Colleen Hiner (Chair), Ryan Bergstrom, Cheryl Morse

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s